Business is booming.

FG places four airports on concession for 30 years

By Abdulrahman Abdullahi

Federal Government has disclosed on Wednesday that the Lagos, Abuja, Port Harcourt and Kano airports will be on concession for a minimum of 20 to 30 years.

This was contained in a document provided by the Ministry of Aviation in Abuja to give explanation regarding the frequently asked questions about airport concession.

Punch reported that part of the document include the status of the road map/public private partnership projects concession of airports, the government named the airports/parts that were up for concession.

According to report, the airports are the Nnamdi Azikiwe International Airport, Abuja: international, domestic and cargo terminals and the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, Lagos: international and cargo terminals.

The duration of the concession was also stated in a separate document, it said, “Infrastructure concessions of this nature come with a significant financial obligation which any responsible concessionaire will no doubt be keen to recoup.

“To this end we envisage a minimum of 20) to 30 years for the programme, which may be extended depending on performance and Nigeria’s best interests.

“That said, the duration is not set in stone and will be subject to negotiation and then final approval by the Federal Executive Council.”

Get real time updates directly on you device, subscribe now.

This website uses cookies to improve your experience. We'll assume you're ok with this, but you can opt-out if you wish. Accept Read More